USDA Removes Eight Substances off National List and Renews Three Others

USDA’s Agricultural Marketing Service (AMS) released their 2017 Sunset final rule. The rule removes three synthetic substances and five non-organic agricultural substances from the National List of Allowed and Prohibited Substances (National List) and renews three other substances. 
The final rule is consistent with the 2015 recommendations of the National Organic Standards Board (NOSB). NOSB reviews all substances on the National List every five years to determine their status in organic production. NOSB makes recommendations to remove substances from the National List using the criteria of the substance being harmful to human health or the environment, the substance no longer being necessary due to the availability of a nonsynthetic alternative, or the substance’s use being inconsistent with organic farming and handling practices.
Effective June 27, 2017, use of these substances will be prohibited in organic production:
  • Lignin sulfonate (as a floating agent in postharvest handling)
  • Furosemide
  • Magnesium carbonate
  • Non-organic chia
  • Non-organic dillweed oil
  • Non-organic frozen galangal
  • Non-organic frozen lemongrass
  • Non-organic chipotle chile peppers
AMS also renewed three substances for organic handling. The three substances will be re-reviewed again in 2022:
  • Inulin-oligofructose enriched
  • Turkish bay leaves
  • Whey protein concentrate
Further information on the substances can be found within AMS’ final rule. If you have questions regarding materials and inputs on your Organic System Plan, please contact your Certification Service Specialist. Please contact CCOF’s policy department for any questions about the NOSB process.