CCOF Representation on COPAC Increases with Key Appointments

California Secretary of Food and Agriculture Karen Ross recently appointed several CCOF members and President of CCOF Certification Services, LLC Jake Lewin to the California Organic Products Advisory Committee (COPAC).

COPAC is a 15-member committee, which advises the secretary on administration of the California State Organic Program (SOP) as well as education, outreach, and technical assistance for organic producers.

Lewin is the first appointee to COPAC’s new certifier seat. He will bring over 20 years of organic certification experience and leadership to the committee. Lewin’s expertise will strengthen SOP enforcement and improve coordination between SOP and organic certification processes.

Secretary Ross also recently appointed Phil LaRocca of LaRocca Vineyards and Chair of the CCOF Board of Directors as an alternate for one of the six producer seats on the committee. LaRocca is an organic champion and pioneer with over 40 years of experience in the community.

Other recent appointments include CCOF members Ann Marie Hourigan of Earthbound Farm and Jeremy Johnson of Traditional Medicinals. Hourigan will serve as one of the two processors on the committee, and Johnson will serve as an alternate processor. Hourigan and Johnson are both CCOF chapter leaders and strong organic advocates.

Multiple alternate seats remain open. COPAC terms last three years and members may serve multiple terms. Those interested in serving on the committee should review the requirements and complete the prospective member appointment questionnaire. Return the questionnaire to Laurel Rudolph at or by mail to 1220 N Street, Sacramento, CA 95814.

Please contact with any questions.